On Life, love and Politics

"Random musings about Life, love and Politics. Just my open diary on the events going on in the world as I see it."

Togolese goalie Obilale to sue CAF March 17, 2010

Filed under: Sports — kikenileda @ 1:01 PM

Togo goalkeeper Kodjovi Obilale is planning to seek compensation from the Confederation of African Football (CAF), amid fears he will never play football again.

Togo Goalkeeper

Obilale returned to France last Saturday, two months after the fatal machine-gun attack on the Hawks as they travelled to the African Nations Cup in Angola early this year.

The 25-year-old has been in hospital in South Africa since he was airlifted there following the attack and has had five operations.

Obilale told French media, "Before thinking about playing football again, I hope to find again the form of a human being, I think I can recover in six months. But will I take up football again? I don't know. I want to press charges. Notably against CAF. I don't know yet on what basis to attack them because I have to get information from a lawyer. But I want people to go before the court. Tomorrow, if I can't play football anymore, what am I going to do?"


The Pontivy goalkeeper was forced to issue an emotional appeal last month for help getting home after Angola refused to pay the US$90,000 repatriation costs.

 

Leave a Reply

