On Life, love and Politics

"Random musings about Life, love and Politics. Just my open diary on the events going on in the world as I see it."

Cameroon-Morocco: Lions Called to Camp May 22, 2009

Some 25 players of the national football team have been called to camp in preparation for the World Cup qualifier against Morocco. Some 25 players of the national football squad, the Indomitable Lions, have been called to camp in preparation for the up coming World Cup qualifier against morocco on June 7. Team coach, Otto Pfister seems to have heeded to criticisms and kept true to his word to inject new blood in the squad as players like Sebastien Bassong and Eyong Enoch have made their maiden entry into the Lions den. However, Sebastien Bassong’s selection maybe problematic given that he has a dual nationality (French and Cameroonian) and FIFA rules remain a

mbiguous for players in his situation. Others like Achille Emana, Alioum Saidou and Timothé Atouba have made a comeback to the national selection. Outside this, there are no major changes as the veteran trio, Samuel Eto’o, Geremi Njitap and Rigobert Song, all feature on the list. However, there is the conspicuous absence of Alexandre Song and André Bikey, who are all under suspension for having been booked in previous encounter with the national squad. Albert Meyong Ze and Eric Matoukou appear on the waiting list.

Though the coach is still to streamline the squad to 18 players, pundits already see Otto Pfister playing a 5-3-2 tactical option with Armand Deumi and Rigobert Song in the central defence, Binya and Ekoto by the sides and Stephane Mbia playing just ahead of the defence line. At the mid field, will be Somen A Tchoyi, Geremi Sorel Njitap and Achille Emana. The attack line shall likely be animated by Samuel Eto’o Fils in the company of Eyong Enoch and Afoulou.

Full List

1. Idris Carlos Kameni (Espagnyol Barcelona, Espagne)

2. Souleymanou Hamidou (Kayserispor, Turquie)

3. Jocelyn Mayebi (Hakach Amidar, Israel)

4. Geremi Sorel Njitap (Newcastle United, England)

5. Sébastien Bassong (Newcastle United, England)

6. Stéphane Mbia (Rennes, France)

7. Rigobert Song (Trabzonspor, Turquie)

8. Aurelien Chedjou (Lille, France)

9. Armand Tchani Deumi (Gaziantepspor, Turquie)

10. Nicolas Nkoulou (As Monaco, France)

11. Benoît Assou Ekotto (Tottenham Hotspurs, England)

12. Augustin Binya (Benfica Lisbonne, Portugal)

13. Timothée Atouba (Hamburg SV, Allemangne)

14. Eyong Enoh (Ajax Amsterdam, Pays-Bas)

15. Alioum Saidou (Kayserispor, Turquie)

16. Eric Djemba Djemba (Odense, Danemark)

17. Modeste Mbami (Olympique Marseille, France)

18. Jean II Makoun (Lyon Olympique Sporting Club, France)

19. Achille Emana (Betis Seville, Espagne)

20. Samuel Eto’o (FC Barcelone, Espagne)

21. Dorge Kouemaha (MSV Duisburg, Allemagne)

22. Somen A Tchoyi (Red Bull Salzburg, Autriche)

23. Daniel Ngom Kome (CD Ténérife, Espagne)

24. Pierre Boya (FC Grenoble, France)

25. Paul Alo’o Efoulou (Angers, France)

Cameroon Tribune


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s